Calendar

January 2020

Monday, January 6, 6:30pm : Members-Only Competition – “Best Shot” (Judging begins at 7pm)
Monday, January 20, 7:00pm : Board Meeting
 

February 2020

Monday, February 3, 7:00pm at Mellinger Mennonite Church (1916 Lincoln Highway East): Presentation by The Seeing Lens: Therapeutic Photography Group.

March 2020

Monday, March 2, 7:00pm : Post Processing in Lightroom (Dave Kramer)
Wednesday, March 18, 7:00 pm: Underwater Photography by Doug Good Cancelled due to the ongoing health crisis

April 2020

Monday, April 6, 6:30pm : Members-Only Competition – “Minimalism” (Judging begins at 7pm) Here we are creating images whose composition involves extreme simplicity.  They emphasize “spareness and focus solely on the smallest number of objects in the composition process.”  These images often have a good deal of “negative space.”  In short, keep ‘em simple!
Monday, April 20, 7:00pm : Board Meeting

May 2020

Monday, May 4, 7:00pm : Color Theory in Post Processing (Don Kautz)

June 2020

Monday, June 1, 7:00pm : Photo critiques (Richard Waine)
Wednesday, June 17: Photo Walk

July 2020

No Meeting

August 2020

Tuesday, August 18, 7:00pm : The Art of Landscape Photography

In this seminar, Dr. Kah-Wai Lin will tell you the pro tips in seeing the unseen and crafting better images in landscape photography: how to use the lights to create visual emotion; how to use long exposure to create visual dynamism; how to use field of vision to create visual perspective; and how to use composition to create visual continuity and story.

Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82405167622?pwd=YnVBemZkM0YrTUZyVEhmMEhUMkxJdz09
Meeting ID: 824 0516 7622
Passcode: 618257

September 2020

Monday, September 14, 6:30pm : Members-Only Competition – “Portrait” (Judging begins at 7pm)

Note: Due to ongoing restrictions related to the COVID-10 virus, this competition may need to be postponed.

For this competition we are focusing on portraits of people (i.e. human beings ;-).  A portrait is a photo of a person or group of people that captures the personality of the subject by using effective lighting, backdrops, and poses.  These are posed pictures, not candid.  Regarding lighting, how you use it and craft it are key in the learning process.  For these pictures we ask that you make the decisions about lighting; natural light, reflectors, flash, etc.  You may use someone else’s equipment as long as you set it the way you want, you adjust it to achieve the picture you want.

October 2020

Monday, October 5, 7:00pm : Member Slide Show
Friday, October 23 : Photo Plus Bus Trip

November 2020

Monday, November 2, 6:30pm : Members-Only Competition – “That’s Odd” (Judging begins at 7pm) If you’ve ever noticed something and said, “That’s odd…” you have a good idea of where this theme is headed.  Look for things that are not what you expect, not ordinary or usual.  We are looking for images with a subject that may be strange, peculiar, funny or even bizarre.

December 2020

Monday, December 7, : Holiday Party and Annual Awards presentations.